Saturday, July 14, 2007

Sat, Jul 14: TdF Stage 7

By the time I got to look at today's coverage, the stage was over.

The first real breakaway consisted of 15 riders:

Ivan Gutierrez (Caisse d'Epargne)
Linus Gerdemann (T-Mobile)
Juan Antonio Flecha (Rabobank)
Inigo Landaluze (Euskaltel-Euskadi)
Ruben Perez (Euskaltel-Euskadi)
Dmitriy Fofonov (Credit Agricole)
Egoi Martinez (Discovery)
Laurent Lefevre (Bouygues Telecom)
Benoit Vaugrenard (Française des Jeux)
Bram Tankink (Quick Step-Innergetic)
Paolo Savoldelli (Astana)
David de la Fuente (Saunier Duval-Prodir)
Martin Elmiger (Ag2r)
Fabian Wegmann (Gerolsteiner)
Jérôme Pineau (Bouygues Telecom).

This group managed to get ahead almost 9 minutes at some point, but the peloton managed to reduce the gap to 5:30 by the second climb of the day, Côte de Cruseilles, with 82 km remaining. At the top of the climb, the gap had increased back to 6:40, with 75 km left. The gap started to come down to 5:10 at the begin of the climb up to Col de la Colombière.

Flecha, Pineau, Salvodelli and Perez are being dropped from the lead group. Cancellara is also being dropped from the main group. Fuente, Gutierrez and Gerdemann are ahead now by themselves, later joined by Fofonov, with 25 km to and 5 minute lead.

Fuente and Gutierrez drop off, and they are soon 25 seconds behind, joined by Landaluze. So it's just Gerdemann and Fofonov now. Gerdemann took off, and got a 30 second lead on the other two. Flecha meanwhile drifted back into the peloton. Salvodelli is also being caught, and it's still Gerdemann up front with Landaluze and Fuente chasing. 4:15 is the gap.

3:20 between Gerdemann and the field once the peloton reached the summit.
2:57 with 10 km to go.
3:22 with 7.5 km to go, with Landaluze approximately 30 seconds behind.

1 km to go ... and Linus Gerdemann (T-Mobile) wins Stage 7.

Provisional results:

1 Linus Gerdemann (T-Mobile) 4.53.13
2 Iñigo Landaluze (Euskaltel-Euskadi) 0.40
3 David De La Fuente (Saunier Duval-Prodir) 1.38
4 Mauricio Soler (Barloworld)
5 Laurent Lefèvre (Bouygues Telecom)
6 Fabian Wegmann (Gerolsteiner)
7 Juan Manuel Gárate (Quickstep-Innergetic)
8 Xavier Florencio (Bouygues Telecom)
9 Christophe Moreau (Ag2r Prévoyance)
10 Alejandro Valverde (Caisse d'Epargne)

The main field finished 3:38 behind, with Leipheimer, Vino, Peeiror, Schleck, Evans, Gusev, Sastre, Klöden, Menchov, Horner and a few other top contenders. Hincapie came in 7:04 behind, Cancellara 22:47 behind. The sprinters mostly came in dead last, with Robbie McEwen last, 24:19 behind.

In the GC, the top 10 are

1 Linus Gerdemann (Ger) T-Mobile Team 34.43.40
2 Inigo Landaluze Intxaurraga (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi 1.24
3 David De La Fuente Rasilla (Spa) Saunier Duval - Prodir 2.45
4 Laurent Lefevre (Fra) Bouygues Telecom 2.55
5 Mauricio Soler (Col) Barloworld 3.05
6 Andreas Klöden (Ger) Astana 3.39
7 Vladimir Gusev (Rus) Discovery Channel Pro Cycling Team 3.51
8 Vladimir Karpets (Rus) Caisse d'Epargne 3.52
9 Mikel Astarloza Chaurreau (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi 3.55
10 Thomas Dekker (Ned) Rabobank 3.57

No comments: